Author: Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles
Books: Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, Winter
Released: 2012-01-01 (Cinder), 2013-01-01 (Scarlet), 2014-01-01 (Cress), 2015-11-10 (Winter)
Publisher: Feiwal & Friends (all books)

In the interest of full disclosure: I’m over 30. I have read a LOT in my life. I have seen great stories with terrible writing, terrible stories with wonderful prose, and everything in between.

Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter are all excellently written books, with a mix of interesting and well-woven plot lines that move the story along at a pace that both keeps the reader engaged on events and manages exposition decently. This is an adventure story right out of the gate, and although there are romance undertones they’re just that.

One of the phenomenal things about this series, though, is that every one of the main characters is an active protagonist of the stories. While there are brief “damsel in distress” moments, these are generally at a character’s introduction and they fade quickly. Each character makes a contribution to the story on their own and work together to make an exceptional group of rag-tag heroes. There are no cookie cutters here…the usual stereotypes are used to give the reader a feel for each character as they first come into play, but after that they develop quickly into individuals.

The series uses fairytales as a foundation and builds on top of them fantastically, until you’re left with an original story that just has a few echoes of what it’s based on. There are both lighthearted moments and extremely dark ones, and if you’re looking for something that can suck you in within the first few pages The Lunar Chronicles is worth the read.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *